Exercise p66 – Surrealism and colour documentary

This exercise calls for a portfolio of five images in a surrealist style on a topic that interests you. Because I have difficulty in understanding exactly what surrealism in photography is, I couldn’t chose a topic to which I could devote five images. Most of the so called surreal images I have seen from my research seem to be at the best bizarre, at the least quirky and in some cases humorous. I’m hoping that you will comment and provoke a discussion to help me clarify this. We were asked to look at Peter Dench’s work before starting this exercise. I chose to respond to the unusual as I visited the island of Tenerife recently.  Here are my images:

DSCF3719

DSCF3768

DSCF3843

DSCF3858

DSCF3859

Leave a Reply

